Until the 16th century, iron ore was mined in the Schlick 2000, a small high-alpine valley. In consequence, numerous smithies have developed, whose products were also known outside the Stubaital.
A special object of interest is the smithy museum in the Riedlhaus. It shows the development of the forging craft and several original tools from the 19th century. It furthermore showcases documents and artistic forging samples. A big attraction of the museum is the old Riedlschmiede with a grinding machine from the year 1812 and a forging hammer from the year 1836, which remained to a large extent in their original state.
Finally there is the “Fulpmer Smith” to see, a wooden sculpture by Ludwig Penz (1876 - 1918), the pioneer of modern sculpting in Tyrol.
The four hammers with the impressive wooden shaft can still be used today, powered by the water of the Schlick stream.
Open during summer months only
Wednesdays 2.00 to 5.00 pm
Admission: € 2.00
(Open for groups on request - group discounts on request, Registration necessary, guided tours possible)